Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Today was cake day. I mean today is Independence Day. The Fourth of July. Red, White, and Blue Day. You see it everywhere. Red, White, and Blue are important symbols to us in the US. They represent more than just Independence from England. I won’t go into the details of the colors and the flag and all the symbolism. That’s what Google is for, right?

But I will say thank you to all – past and present – who have worked, fought, and died for the freedom that we enjoy today. I hope that our celebrations today are reflection of that gratitude.

My daughter hosted a 4th of July cookout today. It was nice. It was hot, but it was nice. And I made cake. It was the first time I tried this cake recipe. I’ll be trying it again. The only thing I will do different, I think, is use a little less salt. (I bet you never thought you’d hear me saying that!) I think the salt called for in the recipe and the salt in the butter I used was just a bit more than was needed. On the other hand, it may have been just the right amount for a cake with lots of home made whipped cream and fresh strawberries and blueberries.

