Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Except I can’t sing and I can’t play an instrument. So I won’t be that kind of Rock Star. But ‘Rock Star’ has come to mean much more. On Wiktionary, Rockstar is defined as 1. A member of a rock band, or a solo artist in the genre (the term usually implies celebrity status, or stardom). But there are now ‘Rock Stars’ in just about every field imaginable. You name a career, hobby, art, craft, sport, activity, and someone can name a ‘Rock Star’ in that area.

Now, I just need to figure out what kind of Rock Star I want to be and how to get there. I have an online friend, Abby Markov, who is a Rock Star in Art. I’m sure there’s room for more than one Rock Star per field, so I may have a shot at that. But, like the efforts of Abby, it will take a lot of work and commitment.

Laurin Rinder is a Rock Star in photography. I really admire his portraits. I want to take photos like him. I need models. I have equipment. It’s not as expensive as his, but what’s behind the camera is more important than the camera. Or the lens. Or the editing software. All of those can make your work easier. But it won’t make it more your work. And doing your own work is an important part of being a Rock Star.

There are numerous Rock Stars in the Fiber Arts industry: knitters, spinners, quilters, designers, dyers, etc. I do each of those task quite satisfactorily, but I doubt I’d ever be a Rock Star in any of those areas.  Maybe dyeing. That’s something that gives me a thrill and I could feel a passion for. (I have been keeping that passion in check lately since my work schedule has been seriously interfering with my dyeing time.)

And speaking of work . . . there are Rock Stars there, too. And that may be where I shine. Lately my work has involved working in the catalog department and transitioning it from a single department to the catalog tasks being done by all departments. I’ve been a teacher and trainer. I also work with the Merchandise Execution Team, primarily with marking clearance price merchandise. That has to be the least favorite job I’ve done since I started working here.

At the dentist’s office today I had to fill out the usual forms. For occupation I put Sales Associate/Customer Service/Merchandise Execution Expert. That’s when it hit me. Until I become an Artist/Photographer Rock Star, I will be a Customer Service Rock Star. I can’t control most of what goes on in the store. (Neither can anyone else, even the store manager, as orders come from the top.) But I can provide the very best Customer Service to every customer I come in contact with. Will that make me a Rock Star? Maybe not. But what can it hurt?

Are you a Rock Star? What makes you a Rock Star?

