Tags

, , , ,


I’ve started walking again. I want to start running. (I’ve never been a runner, but I figure if I don’t start now, I never will be.) I take my phone with me. (I love my smartphone and wonder how I ever lived without it!) Of course, Pandora is installed. That’s what I listen to while walking. And every day, this song plays. Today for some reason, I listened to the words. Yeah, I’ve heard them a million times before. But today I said, “Yes, this is me. And yes, I am my Father’s daughter.” And I was comforted by the thought.

An American quilt, made by an American Girl, representing X’s, O’s, and the comfort of knowing who I am.

 

Excerpt from the Lyrics of The Song:

“Go to work, make up
try to keep the balance up
Between love and money

She used to tie her hair up in ribbons and bows
Sign her letters with X’s and O’s
Got a picture of her mama in heels and pearls
She’s tryin to make it in her daddy’s world
An American girl
An American girl”

