Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


http://www.dailydot.com/society/dad-daughter-zelda-gender-crack/ Gender Switched Zelda   I saw the link on Twitter. I clicked on it because I didn’t know people still played Zelda. I’ve never played it, but I’ve heard of it. And I was taking a break between vacuuming and getting ready for work. So I clicked on it. And I read it. Neat idea, right? Yeah, that was my first thought.

My second thought was, “My daughter seemed to do OK without a ‘gender switched Zelda’. Did it ever occur to me when she was growing up that she was so shallow or so stupid that she couldn’t see that she could be a hero, too? Those thoughts never crossed my mind. She lived in a very ‘masculine hero’ world.

But do you know what happened? She grew up into a lovely young woman. A feminine woman. A woman who knows her own mind and knows how to make good choices and make good things happen. She’s married, has a full-time job, a beautiful daughter, and two great step-children. And she makes it all happen.

Oh, did I mention that her full-time job is with the United States Air Force. She joined the Air Force 11 years go. Thank you, Rebecca, for all you do. And on this day after Veterans’ Day, a special thank you for serving your country in so many ways.  You are a hero.

